Tim McGraw Spills Release For ‘Standing Room Only’ With New Song

[Credit: Taste of Country/YouTube]
Country Music, Country Music News, New Music, News, Tim McGraw, Videos
Tresa Patterson

Even after 16 studio albums, acclaimed film roles, and sold-out shows, Tim McGraw never ceases to chase down unforgettable songs. In turn, a chosen song is never just a hit for the Live Like You Were Dying artist. Frequently, a McGraw song transforms into a social movement, far beyond country music. The phenomenon certainly happened with Humble and Kind, and songwriter Lori McKenna comes to the forefront again with Tim McGraw on his release of Standing Room Only, out August 25.

Already, the album’s title track reigns as a Top 20 Mediabase Country Chart hit, and still climbing, as Taste of Country notes. With the follow-up release of Hey Whiskey, however, Tim McGraw reveals a starkly honest conversation with the bottle like never before. Read further to learn why he is justifiably proud of his new album.

A different direction from ‘Whiskey and You’

Faithful Tim McGraw fans fell in love with the diamond in the rough gem, Whiskey and You, from 2007’s Let It Go. Not to detract from Chris Stapleton’s masterful touch as co-writer on the ballad with Lee Thomas Miller, but in Hey Whiskey, the alluring beverage gets no quarter. The acoustic-driven conversation implores “Hey whiskey, what’d I ever do to you?” over and over through the chronicles of wrecked relationships, wrong decisions, and misspent hours that accompany the affection for drink.

“I held you up/ You let me down” assures the Brad and Brett Warren/Brad and Joel Hutsell composition. Country Music Alley related Tim McGraw’s raw and real encounter with facing the bottle, and how going “straight to my wife” with his confession received an unexpected response. “She just grabbed me and hugged me and changed my life,” Tim extols Faith Hill. Both are great songs, but Hey Whiskey sounds much more like the song a father wants his daughters to remember and add to their playlist. Likely, that’s the automatic response for the McGraw sisters.

Another renewed partnership

Much to the delight of Tim McGraw’s faithful fans, he insists that “I’m still actively writing my own material,” as Yahoo conveys. There are sure to be the artist’s songwriting credits among the featured tracks. Nonetheless, nothing seems to spark and feed Tim’s creative juices more than working with familiar and trusted friends. As it happens, Byron Gallimore is one of those friends who returns as co-producer for Standing Room Only. Altogether, Gallimore produced 12 albums in the Tim McGraw catalog, 11 of which debuted at Number 1.

For his part, Tim McGraw appreciates Gallimore for much more than chart positions. “[Byron] gets what I am trying to do and I’m lucky to have him in my corner,” McGraw speaks of the tried and true producer. Furthermore, the artist elaborates “He does all the things well that I’m unable to do,” describing Gallimore as “technical, a great engineer, and a solid right-hand man who keeps me from running myself into creative ditches.” Obviously, recommendations don’t get any better from superstars, or stellar talents.

A lovely, lucky 13

Probably not by coincidence, 13 songs capturing “the most emotional, thought-provoking and life-affirming music I’ve ever recorded”  in Tim McGraw’s words, take listeners through this journey. Longtime Tim McGraw and Faith Hill friend and songwriter, Lori McKenna, joins Tim on Nashville CA/LA Tennessee.

Without a doubt, titles like Her, Remember Me Well and Beautiful Hurricane send fans’ imaginations spinning in anticipation, as Hello magazine gauges. Another title, Some Songs Change Your World, speaks just what Tim McGraw hopes for his passion project.

Here is the full track listing for Standing Room Only:

  1. Hold On To It
  2. Standing Room Only
  3. Paper Umbrellas
  4. Remember Me Well
  5. Hey Whiskey
  6. Her
  7. Fool Me Again
  8. Small Town King
  9. Beautiful Hurricane
  10. Cowboy Junkie
  11. Nashville CA/LA Tennessee (Feat. Lori McKenna)
  12. Some Songs Change Your World
  13. Letter From Heaven

 Are you excited about Tim McGraw’s new music? Give us your thoughts in the comments and check in with Country Music Alley for news on all your favorite country music artists.

Articles You May Like

Morgan Wallen Cancels Shows Due To Health Concerns
Billy Ray Cyrus Gets Big Win In Divorce Legal Battle With Firerose
Dolly Parton Teams Up With Discount Retailer, All The Details
Bunnie XO Goes All-Natural While Supporting Jelly Roll
John Rich Continues Trolling Jack Black Over Death Comments


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *